Print preview Close

Showing 3676 results

Archival description
3517 results with digital objects Show results with digital objects
October 1935
Pp 274/1/1-4 · Document · 1935.10
Part of Private Archives

Sketches - Death of Arthur Henderson; Noel Baker; Zilliacus; F. Nansen; Carl Joachim Hambro; Pierre Laval; Anthony Eden; General Le Rond; General Dawes.

Colombia-Peru Dispute
Sub-sub-series · 1933.01-1933.10
Part of Private Archives

Colombia's appeal under article 15 of the League of Nations Covenant on the disputed border town of Leticia, ceded to Colombia by Peru under treaty in 1922. According to the Peruvian Government the cession of Leticia to Colombia was unjustified.

A Committee of Three including S. Lester (Irish Free State), Madariaga (Spain), and Matos (Guatemala) was appointed by the League of Nations Council to follow the Colombia-Peru dispute. Ireland was a member of the League of Nations Council.

Summary of events (from Francis Paul Walters' book, "A history of the League of Nations", p. 536, London: Oxford University Press, 1952).

1932 Sep: Peruvians occupy Leticia, Lima disavows them;
1933 Jan: S. Lester on behalf of de Valera reminds two countries of duties as members
of the League of Nations,
Case brought before Council,
Feb: Article 15 involved by Colombia,
Mar: Council recommendations (against Peru),
Council sets up Advisory Committee (S. Lester chairman),
May: War threatens, emergency meeting of Advisory Committee,
New Peruvian president cooperative, S. Lester convenes Council,
two governments table agreement,
Jun: League of Nations flag hoisted in Leticia for a year, all well.

Document · 1932.04.22
Part of Private Archives

Extract from the "Irish Press" on the meeting held by the International Labour Conference; E. de Valera's accession to power, he became Prime Minister of the Irish Free State; S. Lester's action to solve the difficulty of the Committee of 19 that dealt with the Sino-Japanese dispute; Ireland's turn to preside the next general meeting of the League of Nations.

Sub-sub-series · 1932.12-1933.07
Part of Private Archives

The Committee of Three appointed by the League of Nations Council to deal with the Bolivia-Paraguay dispute was composed of the Chairman S. Lester (Irish Free State), S. de Madariaga (Spain) and J. Matos (Guatemala).
The Representative of Bolivia was Costa du Rels, and the Representative of Paraguay, Caballero de Bedoya.

Summary of events:

  • 1932 Sep: Council defers to Neutral Commission in Washington re-Chaco;
  • 1933 Feb: Council endeavours to organise embargo
    Neutral Commission gives up, way clear for League of Nations;
    May: Paraguay declares state of war (mere confirmation)
    Council decides for on-the-spot League Commission. Parties agree
    Nov: After delay, Commission arrives
  • 1934 Feb: Commission finds parties ..., reports to Council
    Council renews embargo efforts
    Aug: Embargo complete. Bolivia requests question to go before Assembly, not Council.
    Nov: Assembly adopts treaty, Bolivia accepts it, not Paraguay
  • 1935 Jun: Bolivia and Paraguay agree to stop fighting
  • 1935 Jul: Peace signed.